My Photo
Location: Lafayette, Indiana, United States

Friday, October 13, 2006

I'm gonna lay back down again...

The Saddle Creek crew

The ever-so-prolific (except when it comes to a second Desaparecidos LP) Conor Oberst and Bright Eyes will be releasing a collection of rarities titled Noise Floor on October 24th. Bright Eyes is one of those few acts that records and releases b-sides and one-off tracks as good as their proper album cuts so it's definitely a worthwhile collection. From Saddle Creek:

Bright Eyes to release rarities collection Noise Floor CD/LP on October 24; CD pre-orders shipping from the online store later this week.

A collection of Bright Eyes rarities recorded 1998-2005 will be released as Noise Floor CD/LP on October 24. The double LP version of this release will include 5 tracks not available on the CD. Orders for the Noise Floor CD will begin shipping on October 13 from the online store, where you can also listen to a stream of the full CD. The LP is a bit delayed and will begin shipping from here as soon as possible, most likely sometime around October 19.

Bright Eyes - Noise Floor
Noise Floor collects selected Bright Eyes singles, one-offs, unreleased tracks, collaborations and covers recorded between 1998 and 2005. Variously recorded to cassette four-track, minidisc, reel-to-reel tape machine, ADAT and computer, these songs trace Bright Eyes' evolution from basement project to band of international repute. Many of these gems previously lost to out-of-print obscurity are hereby resurrected.

Noise Floor Track Listing and Song Origination
01. Mirrors and Fevers (Don't Be Frightened of Turning The Page EP - 2000)
02. I Will Be Grateful for This Day (Sub Pop Singles Club 7" - 2001)
03. Trees Get Wheeled Away (Lost & Found, Volume 1 compilation - 2003)
04. Drunk Kid Catholic (3 Hit Songs From Bright Eyes - UK single - 2003)
05. Spent on Rainy Days (Home Series on Post Parlo Records - 2002)
06. The Vanishing Act (Too Much of a Good Thing 7" - 1999)
07. Soon You Will Be Leaving Your Man (Motion Sickness 7" - 2000)
08. Blue Angels Air Show (DIW Magazine 7" - 2002)
09. Weather Reports (Unreleased 7" with M. Ward)
10. Seashell Tale (Unreleased 7" with M. Ward)
11. Bad Blood (Album Leaf split 7" - 2001)
12. Amy in the White Coat (Vinyl-only B-side on the No Beginning to the Story EP - 2002)
13. Devil Town (The Late Great Daniel Johnston compilation - 2004)
14. I've Been Eating (For You) (3 New Hit Songs From Bright Eyes - UK single - 2001)
15. Happy Birthday to Me (Feb. 15) (3 New Hit Songs From Bright Eyes - UK single - 2001)
16. Motion Sickness (Motion Sickness 7" - 2000)
17. Act of Contrition (Second Thoughts compilation - 2000) *
18. Hungry for a Holiday (Album Leaf split 7" - 2001) *
19. When the Curious Girl Realizes She Is Under Glass Again (Sub Pop singles club 7" - 2001) *
20. Entry Way Song (Amos House Vol. 2 compilation 2002) *
21. It's Cool, We Can Still Be Friends (Transmission One: Tea At The Palaz of Hoon compilation - 2000) *
* included only on vinyl 2xLP

And a couple of tracks to whet appetites:

Bright Eyes- Drunk Kid Catholic

Bright Eyes- Spent On Rainy Days

Also- check out a performance from the always fantastic Jenny Lewis with the Watson Twins tonight (October 13) on Late Night with Conan O'Brien...

Jenny Lewis with the Watson Twins and Jonathon Rice


Blogger chris said...

I’m a first time visitor; I like what you’ve got going on and intend to return; just thought I’d leave a fingerprint.

1:14 PM  
Blogger femurface said...

I loved that version of Cold Water you posted, but I lost the mp3. Would you mind sending it to me or reposting it?

9:45 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home

referer referrer referers referrers http_referer